Lisa Schamess
1 min readApr 10, 2024

--

This is the very point I’m working through in some of my work and writing. It’s no joke that invasive plants (my specialty) and other species are really out of hand. As you point out, the overwhelming reason for that is us: the big box stores sell invasive plants because they are hardy, easy to propagate, and “insect resistant” (eg native insects don’t bother with them). And as you also point out, this problem goes all the way back to colonizing behavior and systems for hundreds of years.

It may comfort you to know that some of us who do removal are cognizant of the need to disconnect from hating or blaming these organisms that are just doing what they do. I for one actually talk to them sometimes during removal. If nothing else, that calms me and I hope there is some benefit in not slashing and ripping my way through the woods.

You might also take comfort in knowing that hummingbirds are native to both the Americas even as far north as Alaska. So if you are admiring a hummer in North America (where I think you are?) you are likely admiring a native bird.

--

--

Lisa Schamess

fecklessly tweaking the universe's algorithms in hopes of a puppy. Currently Director of Communications for the American Association of Geographers. She/they.